:: 172

So, Flickr is… different. I’m trying to be reasonable, but I do hate change. I’ve endured numerous Facebook, Livejournal and Tumblr changes, usually begrudgingly. If you’ve played World of Warcraft, you’re pretty accustomed to change, especially the heart-crushing, infuriating kind. I guess I don’t understand why new, awesome features can’t be integrated into an already working and comfortable design. If you’re going to do a massive overhaul, I want to know WHY. WHAT was wrong with the old version? WHO decided a change needed to be made? What kind of feedback was received beforehand? I feel like many sites make changes they THINK users will like when, HELLO, if you already have a HUGH user base, they clearly like what you’re already providing. I also don’t understand why there isn’t an option to keep the previous style. Livejournal did that much right. You could easily swap between Style 1 and Style 2 when customizing your layout. And guess what? As people became more comfortable with Style 2 and all the cool new features and options it offered, they started to migrate over. They weren’t FORCED.

The new Flickr layout isn’t terrible. I’m mostly indifferent which doesn’t really sing praises of the change. It just seems so cluttered and clunky and very load-heavy. I liked that when I went to the Flickr home page, it displayed information relevant to ME, not a huge Tumblr-esque slide show of my contact’s uploads. All the links are still there, but now hidden in drop down menus on the top bar. The new “cover photo” is ripped right off of Facebook. I already have a Tumblr and I have a Facebook. I don’t need clones. I need a Flickr.

So, whatever. I won’t stop using the site, but I did cancel the renewal of my Pro account. I’m sure I’ll get used to the changes, however unnecessary they may be.

Anyway, on to the credits for this look!

Skin: Essences – Opera
Hair: Eaters Coma – Hair 21
Shirt: Villena Denim Shirt (NEW)
Pants: Blueberry – Nena Skinny Pants
Shoes: Balkanik – Blash Wedges
Hat: Remarkable Oblivion – SwagTastic Hat
Glasses: Reek – Park Shades
Finger Tape: Sinistyle – Finger Tape
Mouth Tape: Frenzy – Muted Tape
Tattoo: okkbye – Little Neck Tattoo – Reversed Cross

One thought on “:: 172

Leave a Reply

