:: 162 ~ Fantasy Faire Post #1

I was so psyched when I was chosen to blog the Fantasy Faire. I love everything fantasy, but I rarely find the time or occasion to wear it. Mermaid and fairy and demon and elf and fawn gear all sit in my inventory, relatively unused. It’s unfortunate because it’s some of the most unique and interesting stuff that Second Life creators have to offer, imo. POINT BEING – I’M GETTING TO PLAY DRESS UP! And not just any dress up, but I get to wear gorgeous, colorful, imaginative pieces and take pictures and show them off!

For those of you who are wondering what exactly the Fantasy Faire is, the Official FF Press Release says it as well as I ever could:

“Celebrating its fifth year, Fantasy Faire 2013 is the largest gathering of fantasy designers, enthusiasts, roleplayers and performers in the virtual world. From Saturday April 20 to Sunday April 28, treat yourself to nine days of shopping, live music concerts, auctions, hunts and roleplaying as thousands of Second Life residents and creators bring their own visions together to support the American Cancer Society’s vision of a world without cancer.

Avatars, clothing, furnishings, gadgets and exclusive items are available from more than 130 of SL’s top Fantasy Creators across ten stunning sims designed by some of the visionary artists behind many of the hottest spots on the SL destination guide.”

As of 5:00 SLT, the FF has raised L$3,296,095. DO YOU KNOW HOW INCREDIBLE THAT IS? In less than 48 hours ! That’s over $13,000 IRL. FOR THE AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY! What’s even better, is that EVERYONE WINS! Not only is the money going to an awesome cause, but you get AWESOME STUFF! THIS IS EXCITING, PEOPLE, OKAY?

I was disappointed that I didn’t get to take full advantage of the early access day for bloggers, but my attention and mind were with Boston and it was hard to focus. I did manage to tear myself away from RL for a much needed break and snagged a few pictures of the landing point. As always, the venue is breathtaking and whimsical.

There are 2 free full avatars (thanks to The Plastik) for you to snag when you land to help keep the lag down. From there, portals carved out of large trees will take you to your chosen destination.

I wish I could have a few hours explore this place completely on my own, with no one else on the sim. There are literally thousands of things to see. I mean, seriously, TEN SIMS WORTH OF THINGS. ALL THE THINGS!!! Alas, now it is crowded and much to laggy to enable shadows, so YOU’LL JUST HAVE TO GO EXPLORE ON YOUR OWN, which, let’s be real, is the much better option anyway!

Thank you to every one who had a hand in putting this together! Look for my posts containing AWESOME GOODIES to come soon! Like, really soon. In a few minutes to be frank lol.

TP TO THE FANTASY FAIRE!

Leave a Reply

